Is Crime Colorblind?

25220[1]

Something caught my attention ” Why Don’t People Think 4 Black Teens Killing a White Male Is a Hate Crime?”.

I have so many questions and answers to this question it’s retarded. One, just because it’s four black kids and one white guy it doesn’t automatically make it a hate crime (as bad as that sounds), it might be called “jumping him”, or even a murder. Two, why is it every time a black kid does something to a white kid it’s always called a  hate crime? A hate crime is when a person  targets another person because of their social group (in this case, their racial group). It’s not always like they’re thinking you’re white and I’m black so I’m gonna kill you, sometimes it’s just because I really don’t like you, I don’t like the way you looked at me , or I don’t like the way you talk. You know,  it might just be the  dumb stuff people usually fight or kill someone for. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying what they did was justified, it was stupid and unnecessary. But I’m saying  people have to look at people’s motives, their actions, and their reasons before they look at someones race.

 

-Arieanna

Leave a Reply

